Everyday Life

Deconstructing “Don’t Trust Me.”

“Don’t Trust Me,” by 30H!3, circa… I would like to say 2008.  My friend has recently re-fallen in love with it, which made me want to listen to it. So I was listening to this song earlier today. Despite knowing all the words to the song and being as familiar with it as I was/am, I was legitimately surprised when I listened to the lyrics. 

This is, of course, my favorite line:

You tell your boyfriend, if he says he’s got beef
That I’m a vegetarian and I ain’t fucking scared of him

Let’s face it, I would say that to someone if I was uninhibited enough. I guess I didn’t listen to any of the words after that line. The chorus was always lost in the jumble of the music, but I must have never ever noticed there was a second verse. Surely I would have noticed how dark it was. It’s divided into two parts. The second part was what shook me:

B-b-bruises cover your arms
Shaking in the fingers with the bottle in your palm
And the best is, no one knows who you are
Just another girl alone at the bar

Let’s think about this. 

“Bruises cover your arms,”

This can mean many things. I would lean more towards drug use. The drug use would explain some of this bruising–it may occur while injecting or otherwise putting the drugs inside the body. Otherwise, it could be physical abuse either from a significant other or family member. Regardless, this individual has had a difficult time.

“Shaking in the fingers with a bottle in your palm.”

Is it a bottle of alcohol, it is a bottle of pills? Who really knows? Her hand is shaking whilst holding this bottle of drug. It could be because she is coming down from a high or because she’s on so many drugs she’s OD-ing. It could be fear. What would she do with this bottle? Is it a bottle of pills that she going to take some, sell some? It is alcohol and she’s going to drink away her pains? Is she planning on taking her own life? Things to think about.

“And the best is, no one knows who you are.”

This is clearly a troubled person, exhibiting troubling behavior and no one knows who she is. No one can help her. No one sees her probably. Being in a place where no one knows who you are can be both liberating and terrifying. Regarding on how someone feels in that situation, the outcomes can be good or bad. This could be the terror that makes her shake. She could feel so liberated there, in a place where no one knows her, that she has all her inhibitions leave her (which, I suppose can be good or bad, depending on her intentions). There are negative and positives to being a stranger in a strange place, but my feeling is that most are negative.

“Just another girl alone at the bar.”

Honestly, this line is kind of scary. Maybe it’s because I lived on a college campus where it was unwise to be alone at a bar and unwise to be in most places alone where people of questionable morals surrounded you. It also sounds kind of predatory. Anything could happen to this girl and no one knows her. She is alone. 

It came to mind that he could also be talking about a prostitute. It is still not a good scene for the prostitute.

This is a long post of me being, probably, too serious about a song verse. But it is so random! Right before that is my favorite line in the song and… That whole verse suddenly gets dark and then the next one talks about doing the Helen Keller! It’s a little jarring once you realize it’s there. It’s like a slap of real life in a song that is supposed to be about the club scene and “hos.” 

 

Lyrics curtesy of a MetroLyrics
Read more: 3OH!3 – Don’t Trust Me Lyrics | MetroLyrics 

Leave a Reply

