New Year's Resolutions

Resolutions Update: 2nd Quarter

Hey!

I am back again after a long… long hiatus. I wish I could say it was planned; however, I have a hard time finding inspiration to write. But this one is easy! This is a check in, half of it is already written for me 🙂

So, in March I made a post that checked in on the status of my New Years Resolutions. They were progressing decently well for it just being March. However, now that we’re half way through the year and life has caught up/has started speeding up… they’re not doing so great. However, I am not giving up! It’s going to happen!

Onward.

1. Work out regularly
I hate exercise. I hate it, I hate it, and I hate that I need it. I haven’t gone to the gym since January. The most I’ve worked out today is holding back my Lana dog while standing in line to get her vaccinations. I’m not sure that counts. However, I keep the hope alive. I think about doing it every day and I’m trying to adjust my shower schedule to it… I’m working on it.

2. Go to law school
I have not gone yet. But… I will. I was officially accepted into the University of Illinois College of Law. I start school in August. It was a hard decision to make but I have no regrets so far.

3. Redo my bedroom
I have paint samples, at least. It’s gonna happen. It’s futile, but it’s gonna happen.

4. Start vlogging
I should do this. I forgot this was a New Years resolution. It’d be an advice channel, for those interested.

5. Write on the blog more
I’m still writing more than I did last year, so… I’m going to call this a success, #winning

6. Be more up-to-date on current world and domestic events
I apparently can’t do this.

7. Read at least 4 books this year
I read a book! And not just my law school essays book, but a real book! I read “The Secret Life of Bees” because it’s a classic and I like bees. It was an okay book. I expected something different. I’d placed the book in the wrong era… so it wasn’t what I expected. It was okay. Now I am working through “Lipstick Jihad” which, word of advice to the general population, is not the best book to read while waiting for your immigration interview.

8. Be nicer to people
I’m still working on this, but I know I was nicer to someone a few times. So… you know. Also #winning.

9. Learn an instrument
My mom said she’d teach me yesterday at 3:00… then she had a rehearsal with someone else at the same time. It’s going well.

10. Photography
I made a deal with myself when I first started applying to law schools. I’ve been wanting a DSLR for years. I said that if I got into law school, I would get my camera. Then I got into law school. I almost didn’t get the camera, but my mom convinced me that I should. It is another purchase that I do not regret.

11. Get U.S. Citizenship
So, the last step to getting citizenship is to be sworn in… I have my swearing in ceremony on June 16.

Many of these resolutions aren’t completed, but a few of them are making progress, if not already done. It feels good.

I hope everyone else’s resolutions are also going well! Even if they’re not, you still have the other half of the year and it’s summer. There’s always time to do some soul searching and improve yourself in the summer. The weather is nice, there’s outdoor activities, and there’s sun! So much time still remains to do what you want to do with yourself.

-M.

2 thoughts on “Resolutions Update: 2nd Quarter

Leave a Reply

