Everyday Life · Law School - 2L

Marcie’s Christmas Movies :: 2016

Last year, I made a list of my favorite Christmas movies.  They were cheesy, they were terrible, but they were beloved.  I thought, in honor of Christmas 2016, I would update the list.

I’m proud to announce that, while I do still love the horribly cheesy Christmas movie, I also now enjoy less horribly cheesy Christmas movies and have expanded my horizons.  Again, I invite everyone to check them out, but to also keep your expectations very low.  I have to stay true to me and me really likes cheesy Christmas movies.

2015 Xmas Movies:
1.  Dear Santa (still on Netflix now)
2. Christmas Kiss (still on Netflix now)
3.  Kinky Boots (no longer on Netflix)
4.  Love Actually (still on Netflix–and watching as I write this post)
5.  Santa Claus is Coming to Town (was never on Netflix.  Their mistake)

2016 Xmas Movies:
1.  The Holiday (no longer on Netflix–those jerks removed it before Christmas).  What’s not to love about The Holiday?  It has Jude Law, Kate Winslet, Eli Wallach, and the music is amazing.  I love me some Frou Frou.  Also, I just find it to be relatable to a certain extent.  Judge me.

2.  A Holiday Engagement (on Netflix).  This is a cheesy one, but I like it.  It’s about a girl who is dumped by her fiancé and hires an actor to play her fiancé.  Shenanigans ensue.  It’s light, predictable, and even though it takes place over Thanksgiving, there are Christmas ornaments and trees in it.

3.  The Last Holiday (on Netflix).  This isn’t as cheesy, but I think it deserves to be on the list.  The one-liners in that movie are hilarious.  “That’s why they call it gambling and not crocheting!”  Classic.

4.  Christmas Kiss II (on Netflix).  Surprisingly, it’s not as horrible as the first Christmas Kiss.  I was surprised to see that.  The acting is less horrible and the storyline isn’t nearly as cheesy.  The characters spend more time together and they’re generally more likable.  It’s an improvement.

5.  A Dogwalker’s Christmas Tale (on Netflix).  I just watched this today.  If anyone likes dogs, Christmas, girl power, and the popular guy from Mean Girls, then this is definitely a movie for you.  It’s meet-cute with dogs and I’m all over it.

Enjoy!

~ m

Leave a Reply

